Homeowners and renters are missing out on millions of dollars in tax relief. Use the resources below to learn more.
Vermont Program Overview
Property Tax-Aide features the Property Tax Credit, Homestead Declaration, and Renter Claim Credit programs in Vermont. Currently, there are no statewide programs specifically for older adults.
Property Tax Credit
- Your property qualifies as a homestead and you have filed a Homestead Declaration for the current year’s grand list. (See Homestead Declaration program below) . The Grand List is the listed value established by the local assessing officials and are the values used to determine municipal taxes.
- You were domiciled in Vermont for the full prior calendar year.
- Household income includes all the funds available to support a household. It includes both taxable and nontaxable income of any persons living in your household
- You cannot be claimed as a dependent of another taxpayer for the 2022 tax year.
- The maximum 2022 income (determined by completing Schedule HI-144) is $134,800.
- The credits are based on house site value of $400,000 for those with income less than $90,000 and $225,000 for those with income $90,000 or more.
The Property Tax Credit Claim due date is April 18, 2023 but can be filed late, up to October 16, 2023 with penalty for late file.
- The claim for Property Tax Credit (HS 122) must be filed annually along with the Household Income Schedule HI-144. Household income includes all the funds available to support a household. It includes both taxable and nontaxable income.
- Homestead Declaration is required and is Section A of the Vermont Homestead Declaration and Property Tax Credit Claim Form HS-122.
- Information from the property tax is needed, including house site value, house site education tax and house site municipal tax and household income.
- Completed Federal Income Tax return (Federal Form 1040) and all schedules, if applying by mail.
The homeowner is responsible to claim the property as homestead and must apply annually.
- You are a Vermont resident and have owned and occupied the homestead as your domicile as of April 1, 2023 If the homestead is leased to a tenant on April 1, 2023, you may still claim it as a homestead if it is leased for no more than 182 days in the 2023 calendar year.
- The property cannot be used as a second home, camp, vacation, or summer cottage.
- The Homestead Declaration for 2023 is due April 18 and no later than October 16. Your municipality may assess a penalty after the April due date.
- The penalty is up to 3% if the nonhomestead rate is higher than the homestead education property tax rate or up to 8% if the nonhomestead education property tax rate is lower than the homestead rate.
- If the declaration is filed after October 16, the property will be taxed at the higher, nonhomestead rate.
- The application must be submitted annually.
- Application can be filed electronically.
- Application form HS-122, which includes social security number, School Property Account Number
Renter Credit Claim
For the purposes of the renter credit, income starts with federal adjusted gross income, then adds back certain trade or business losses, exempt interest, 75% of exempt Social Security benefits, and certain adjustments to gross income. Renters may be eligible for the credit if they have rented for at least six calendar months during the taxable year, although the months rented are not required to be consecutive.
- The renter must be domiciled in Vermont for the entire calendar year 2022.
- The renter cannot be claimed in 2022 as a dependent of another taxpayer.
- The renter must have rented in Vermont for at least six months in 2022
- The income limits for the Renter Credit program are 50% of the county median income by family size as determined by the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). The income limits are adjusted every year for inflation.
The Renter Credit Claim due date is April 18, 2023 but can be late filed up to October 16, 2023 with no penalty for late filing.
- Completed Vermont Renter Credit Claim
- Your landlord is required to file a Renter Certificate (Form RCC-146) for your application to be honored.
- You are required to enter the School Property Account Number (SPAN) for the place you rented on December 31, 2022, or the last place you rented.
- If you did not file a federal income tax Form 1040, you will have to provide income information.
More information can be found on the official Renter Claim webpage
The Renter Credit Claim can be filed electronically during filing season through your tax software or directly in myVTax.
Paper Returns: To file a paper claim, download a copy of form RCC-146, Renter Credit Claim or you may request paper forms be mailed to you.
Mail the completed form to:
Vermont Department of Taxes
P.O. Box 1881
Montpelier, VT 05601-1645
Enter an address in the search bar to find the School Property Account Number (SPAN) of a property. Open the SPAN finder in new window.
Property Tax-Aide has independently selected the property tax relief programs featured on this website that we think are the most relevant and beneficial to older adults. It is not an exhaustive list of all property tax relief programs available in each state. Please consult your local tax agency for a comprehensive listing of property tax relief programs in your area.