Skip to Content

New Hampshire

Program Overview

The State of New Hampshire has enacted a law enabling property owners to receive relief of the state education portion of their property tax bill.
Property Tax-Aide Application Season Is Open

Click the icons to reveal more information about each program. Click again to hide it.

Program

Eligibility

  • Single with adjusted gross income equal to or less than $20,000; or Married or head of NH household with adjusted gross income less than or equal to $40,000
  • Own a homestead that must pay the State Education Property Tax
  • Has resided in that homestead on April 1 of the year for which the claim is made

Application Deadline

Applications for the Low and Moderate Income Homeowners Property Tax Relief are accepted only during the statutory filing period — after May 1, but no later than June 30. The law allows 120 days for processing from the date of receipt of your completed application.

Required Documentation

  • 2020 federal income tax return
  • Complete 2020 property tax bill indicating assessed value (this is the tax bill mailed to you between October and December of 2020 in most cases)
  • Copy of your trust document if property is held by a trust and any required explanatory statements

Where to Get Help Near You

Find a partner organization who can help you apply for property tax relief.

The River Center

Property Tax-Aide Season is:
Open
Available for appointments
Address:
9 Vose Farm Road
Peterborough, NH 03458
Back to top